ECS manager card



Get your ECS Manager Card / ECS Black card without sitting for test or exam

ECS Manager card firstly the cards are available to any electrotechnical worker who is qualified and meets the card type specification and requirements.

What types of Manager card are there?

There are now cards to cover the following occupations:
Electrical Site Manager | Electrical Contract Manager | Site Manager | Project Manager | Contract Manager

Do you actually need a Manager card?

With the introduction of more rigorous requirements we are asking people to consider: do you actually need a Manager ECS card? For those simply paying site visits, you can be escorted on and off site and CSCS does not specify a need for a card. If you’re primarily an office-based manager, you may find you are not asked for an ECS card, or that an ECS Site Support card is more relevant to your occupation such as Design Engineer, Commissioning Engineer, IT Manager, H&S Manager or CAD Engineer.

What are the new requirements for the Manager’s card?

If you are making an initial application for an ECS Managers card you will need to meet both technical and Health & Safety qualification requirements plus hold an ECS HS&E assessment.

1. Technical Requirement
You must meet one of the following technical requirements:
Route 1: If you have or meet gold card requirements
If you already have an ECS gold card as an installation or maintenance electrician, or meet the requirements, you are eligible to apply for a Manager’s card. You will also need a Health & Safety qualification as described below.
Route 2: Level 4 management qualification
You can also apply for a Manager’s card with a management qualification at Level 4 or above such as BTEC, Management diploma or degree. You will also need a Health & Safety qualification as described below.

2. Health & Safety qualification requirements Whether you meet either technical requirement route 1 or route 2 you will also need to hold a Health and Safety qualification at Level 4 or above such as:
Construction Skills (CITB) Site Supervisor Safety Training Scheme (SSSTS)
IOSH Safety, Health & Environment for Construction Site Managers
CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS)
CCNSG Safety Passport – Supervising / Leading a Team Safety Course
IOSH Safety for Directors
NEBOSH Diploma in Occupational Safety
UK Degree level Health and Safety qualification

AND ECS HS&E Assessment (only if you’re not exempt by taking one of these courses)

To complete your application you will need the ECS HS&E assessment. However, if the health and safety qualification you hold is accepted as a 3-year exemption from the ECS HS&E Assessment you will not need to sit the ECS Assessment separately when you apply.

Existing Cardholders:

Your existing card is still valid until its expiry date.
If your renewal date is before December 2020 then you will have a choice whether to renew your card or move over to the new card requirements above. We recommend that you move to the new card requirements as soon as possible.
Once you have met the new requirements the normal renewal cycle will be in place when your card reaches its expiry date.

Why are these changes being made?

To conclude the Construction Leadership Council. Moreover the body which drives industry improvement, has announced that nationally-recognized qualifications. Furthermore should be in place for all construction-related occupations by 2020.

In recognition of this, CSCS has changed its partnership criteria and so the ECS needs to make these changes. In order to meet the new requirements. The JIB supports the introduction of appropriate qualifications for Managers. As part of the overall drive to raise standards across the electrotechnical industry.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ECS manager card”

Your email address will not be published.